Russian Tea Cakes

DSC_7681

This afternoon I made the first Christmas cookies of the year, the honor went to Russian Tea Cakes.  It’s funny, I am not a fan of walnuts, but I love these cookies.  I know they have 3/4 a cup of walnuts in them, but since they are chopped so tiny it’s easy for me to forget they are in there.  I can just relish the lightness of the cookie and the delicious flavor the nuts provide.

I started baking the cookies around 3:30pm, and I forgot how fast the sun goes down this time of year.  So by the time I was ready to take pictures of the finished product the sun was already almost all the way behind the trees.  It was definitely too dark to shoot in my dining room where I had planned to do the pictures.  However, there still was  a bit of light coming through the big window in the living room.  So I set up a tray right in front of the window and moved everything I wanted to take pictures of to there.  It made it a little more difficult, and a lot more moving things back and forth.  But I got the shots!

The ingredients for these cookies are:
1 Cup of Softened Butter (or margarine but I prefer greatly prefer butter)
1/2 Cup of Sifted Confectioners Sugar
1 tsp. Vanilla
2 1/4 Cups of Sifted Flour
1/4 tsp. Salt
3/4 Cup of finely chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 400ºF

I always chop the walnuts first, it’s my favorite part of making this recipe (besides eating the finished product, I don’t know why)
DSC_7643

Chop until the nuts are very very finely chopped.
DSC_7645

Mix together the softened butter, sifted sugar, and vanilla and mix thoroughly.
DSC_7647

I didn’t get a picture of this part (new to food blogging and all) but then sift the flour and salt and blend it in, then mix in the nuts. The dough will be very dry, I had to use my hands to get the last of the flour and the nuts combined.

Roll dough into 1 inch balls and place on un-greased cookie sheets (the cookies will not spread.)
DSC_7651

Bake for 8-12 minutes (*Note* I used convection mode on my oven and the cookies only took 6 minutes) or until set and the bottoms are ever so slightly golden, the whole cookie shouldn’t be brown. Be careful not to over bake. Remove from oven and place on cooling rack.
DSC_7653

While still warm roll in confectionery sugar. The sugar will melt into the cookie and make it sticky. Not to worry though, this will act like glue so when you roll the cookie in the sugar again when it’s cool it will stick and make the cookies look like little snow balls.
DSC_7658

And here’s what they look like when they are cool and have been rolled a second layer of confectionery sugar!
DSC_7668
DSC_7673

Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Baking: Cookies

3 responses to “Russian Tea Cakes

  1. kcd75

    Those look delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

    K.C.D

    http://thewritingsofkcd.wordpress.com/

  2. Ooh, these look yummy! I’ve never tried them before, but I’ll have to add them to my Christmas baking list!

  3. great article! I’m definitely looking forward to reading more posts

Leave a Reply

