Dark Chocolate Truffles

I have been wanting to make truffles for a while now, I tried once a few years ago and it failed horribly. I let the chocolate sit in the refrigerator for too long before I tried to roll it into balls, so it hardened up way too much. Then I was impatient and didn’t let it sit out long enough before I tried to roll the chocolate again, and I ended up with something like shaved chocolate and not nice round truffles (it still tasted good though :P)

This time, it went much much better! I ended up with 12 delicious round truffles. I used the recipe that was on the back of the Ghirardelli chocolate, but I decided to half it. It said it would make about 30 truffles and I really didn’t need that many. So all the amounts in the pictures are half the normal amount, the full recipe will be at the bottom of the page.

Truffles are so simple to make! Only three ingredients!
Truffles 1

As I said, I just took the recipe right off of the back of the chocolate.
Truffles 2

You start by adding the heavy cream to a saucepan and bringing it to a simmer.
Truffles 4

Once the cream is simmering add in the butter and stir until melted.
Butter

Then add the chocolate to the saucepan and stir until entirely melted. Once the chocolate is smooth remove from heat and pour into a shallow bowl.
Chocolate

Then put the bowl in the refrigerator until firm (but not solid) it will probably take at least two hours.
Truffles 13

Once firm roll the mixture into 1 inch balls and roll in a coating of your choice. I left half of mine plain and the other half I rolled in finely chopped walnuts. I prefer them plain, but my family likes the walnuts so by doing half and half everyone got what they liked.
Here is the finished product!
Truffles 14

Enjoy!

Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Truffles
Makes 30 Truffles
8 oz. (2 Bars) Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Baking Bar
1/3 Cup of Heavy Whipping Cream
6 Tbsp. of Unsalted Butter Cut into Small Pieces
Coating
1/3 Ghirardelli Unsweetened Cocoa or 3/4 of finely chopped almonds or pecans (or whatever you want really)

Bring cream to simmer in small saucepan. Add butter and stir until melted. Add chocolate to saucepan, stir until completely melted and smooth. Remove from heat and pour chocolate mixture into a shallow bowl. Cool, cover and refrigerate until firm, at least two hours. Roll mixture into 1″ balls. Roll each ball in coating.

4 Comments

Filed under Baking: Other

4 responses to “Dark Chocolate Truffles

  1. Your truffles look perfect! I made truffles one other time, and they didn’t come out for me because of my hot hands haha. The next time I tried another recipe, and they came out perfectly. Again, congrats on your success with these truffles!

    BTW, I have that same saucer that you used for the butter haha.

  2. These look like they’d be addicting! I’m definitely looking forward to giving this recipe a try :)

  3. That looks seriously delicious!

  4. Those truffles look TO DIE FOR!!! I really want to try out this recipe! They sound SO good! :)

Leave a Reply

