Surfer Squares

Surfer Squares 2

A couple weeks ago a few friends and I had a recipe exchange of sorts.  In this exchange I received quite a few recipes, and I am looking forward to trying all of them.  The one I decided to test out first is a recipe called Surfer Squares.  The recipe comes from my friend’s mother-in-law, and my friend has, in fact, never made this recipe herself, or even tasted it!  Her husband however, raves over how good it is, and since I bake more than she does, she thought I might want to try it sometime. I’m going to be seeing my friend and her husband tomorrow, and I thought it would be nice to make the “Surfer Squares” and surprise them both!  The real test will be seeing if he thinks they taste like his mother’s!

Now, I haven’t quite figured out why they are called Surfer Squares yet.  But they are delicious!  I was actually very skeptical about how this recipe would turn out. Butterscotch chips, semi-sweet chips, marshmallows?  It all sounded kind of strange to me, and I was having trouble imagining how it would taste.  It didn’t help that on my first attempt I wasn’t paying close enough attention to the butter, sugar, and butterscotch chips melting on the stove and I somehow had the butter separate into a greasy, gooey, glob. (Try saying that five times fast!)

Surfer Squares 4

On the second attempt I was sure to pay more attention, and even though the mixture on the stove was still quite grainy and odd looking when the chips had melted I transferred it into a mixing bowl, and added the egg.  Almost as soon as I turned on the beaters it changed until a smooth glossy mixture, and I went ahead and mixed in the rest of the ingredients.  The batter was quite dense and sticky when I went to put it in the 8×8 pan, and I still wasn’t sure if it was right, but I popped it in the oven to see what would happen.

I baked it until it was golden brown on top and around the edges, it smelled really good, but at this point I still wasn’t sure how it would taste.  When it was cool I cut it into bars (which was slightly difficult because they are quite sticky) and tentatively took my first bite.

My verdict? They are delicious, rich and gooey! I taste the chocolate first, then the butterscotch flavor comes through after.  I am really not a marshmallow fan, but I don’t even taste them.  It’s like they melt quietly into the background, and make the bars wonderfully chewy.  They smell amazing as well!  All in all I think this recipe is a total hit!  I can’t wait to see what my friends think of it tomorrow, and maybe I’ll find out why they are called Surfer Squares.

Surfer Squares 1

Surfer Squares
1 cup Butterscotch Chips
1/4 cup Brown Sugar
1/4 cup Butter
1 Egg
1 tsp Vanilla
3/4 cup Flour
1 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Salt
1 cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
1 cup Mini Marshmallows

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Grease 8×8 inch square pan. In saucepan melt butter over medium heat, when fully melted add in sugar and stir until totally dissolved and incorporated with butter.  Add butterscotch chips, stir constantly until melted*.  The mixture might be slightly grainy/lumpy.  Transfer mixture to mixing bowl, add egg and vanilla, beat well.  Mix in flour, baking powder, and salt.  Stir in chocolate chips and marshmallows.  Spread mixture into greased 8×8 inch pan.  Bake at 350ºF for 20-25 minutes.  Cool and cut into bars.

* I took the saucepan off the heat after the butterscotch chips were in about 20 seconds, the butter/sugar mixture was hot enough to finish melting the chips.  Remember to stir constantly.

2 Comments

Filed under Baking: Bar Cookies

2 responses to “Surfer Squares

  1. спасибо было очень интересно читать

  2. Carol

    I just gave that recipe to my daughter. I used to make them as kid and don’t even remember where the original recipe came from.

Leave a Reply

