Bird’s Nests

Birds Nests 3

If someone had me write a list of my favorite desserts, Bird’s Nests would probably be in the top ten.   I am not exactly sure what to call them, they’re not cookies…but I don’t know if candy really fits either.  They are chocolate bundles of sweet and salty goodness.  In my family they have somehow become a Christmas only dessert, like gingerbread cookies.  However, this year I decided to change that.  Since Monday was Valentines Day, as well as my Birthday, I decided to treat myself with this delicious treat.

Chow Mein Noodles for Bird's NestsThe ingredients in this recipe are pretty straightforward, milk chocolate chips, semi sweet chips, peanuts…except for one, Chow Mein Noodles.  For some reason when I tell people about this recipe that one ingredient always throws them.  They add another layer of saltiness to the peanuts and they give the dessert another bird’s nest like quality, they act as the twigs.

Despite how easy this recipe is to make, the directions I have to make them are very vague.  “small bag of chow mein noodles”, about 3/4- 1 cup peanuts, “barely coat.”  I usually just keep adding the peanuts and noodles until it looks right, but that is a little difficult to explain through a blog post, so I’ll do my best! Despite this I think it would be very hard to mess this recipe up.  If you don’t add enough peanuts and noddles each nest will just be more chocolately, and vice versa.  Feel free to comment if you have any questions.

Bird's Nests 4

Bird’s Nests
1/2 – 3/4 package (6-9 ounces) Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
1 package (12 ounces) Milk Chocolate Chips
About 3/4 – 1 cup Peanuts
About 1/2 – 3/4 can Chow Mein Noodles
1 bag M&Ms, whichever flavor is your favorite

Line two cookie sheets with wax or parchment paper.  In a pot on the stove melt chocolate chips over medium heat until melted.  Add in peanuts and chow mein noodles, add more if needed, they should be barely coated in chocolate.   Scoop small tablespoons of the mixture on the wax paper lined cookie sheets, quickly press in 2-4 (depending on preference and size of nests)  M&Ms to be the “eggs.”  Let sit for 1-2 hours, peel off wax paper and store in airtight container.  Enjoy!

And lastly, an update on the Surfer Squares my friend and her husband loved them!  He said they tasted just like his mother’s, though he wasn’t able to tell me how they got their name.

Bird's Nests 1

3 Comments

Filed under Baking: Other

3 responses to “Bird’s Nests

  1. This already goes into my to do list. so excited!

  2. Beth

    I really want to try this but we don’t get canned noodles over here (not that I’ve seen anyway). Just wondered if noodles were cooked or not?

Leave a Reply

